Hoye Award Winners

The annual Gregory R Hoye Award was recently presented at the 28th Annual Appreciation Celebration held by Mountain Valley Hospice at the Paul Nigra Center for the Arts in Gloversville.  The award is given each year jointly by Mountain Valley Hospice and the Hoye family.  Presented by Anna Marie Hoye, a representative of the Hoye family, the award is given to someone who has demonstrated sensitive and compassionate care to the needs of patients and families dealing with life-limiting illnesses.  It is given in memory of Gregory R. Hoye who passed away in 1987. Because there were 10 very deserving nominees and it was the 10th anniversary of the Nancy Dowd Hospice Home, each nominee was honored with the award.

Pictured are the award winners.  They include:   Back row left to right: Debra Henry, Nathan Littauer Hospital, Lynn Pawloski,  Adirondack Stretcher and Ambulette, Ashley Duross, St Mary’s Healthcare Cancer Care, Anita Allen, Community Health Center, Melissa Stock, St Mary’s Healthcare , Dr. Michael Schwartzman, Dr. James Vacek, NLH Primary Care, seated left to right: Amanda Hershey, NYOH Tammy Merendo, Nathan Littauer Hospital and Nursing Home, Julie Douglas and, NYOH, and Victor Giulianelli, St Mary’s Healthcare (not present).